Return to Curriculum

Early Years

A child’s first day at school can be a daunting prospect for parents and children alike. It’s only natural that you’ll want to leave your little ones safe in the knowledge that they will experience the same high standard of care and attention as they do at home.

Our Foundation Stage is not only a safe and nurturing place to learn, it’s also a fun, creative and stimulating environment within which children can really enjoy their first taste of independence. Every effort is made by the team at Oakmere School to make the transition from home to school as easy and ‘tear-free’ as possible. Our ethos is that children’s Nursery experience should be relaxed, home-like and led by their own interests. We know that children learn best when they are happy, healthy, safe and secure, when their interests are followed and when they enjoy positive relationships with the adults caring for them. In the Nursery, children learn predominantly through play. We seek to achieve a balance between adult-led and child-initiated interactions and activities. We create a purposeful learning environment, indoor and out, from which our children can choose freely and independently select and use resources. Come and join us! See our Nursery Application Policy.

In Reception class our aim is to make sure that children feel settled, confident and happy coming to school. We also strive to build supportive and positive relationships with children’s families. The Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum emphasises the development of the whole child and it is through strong relationships between home and school that we support the holistic development of the children in our class.

The EYFS is divided up into Seven Areas of Learning and Development, which are:

  1. Personal, Social and Emotional Development (PSED)
  2. Communication and Language (C+L)
  3. Physical Development (PD)
  4. Literacy (L)
  5. Mathematics (M)
  6. Understanding the World (UTW)
  7. Expressive Arts and Design (EAD)

The staff in our EYFS use these seven areas of learning as the basis for their planning. Each area is divided up into more distinct areas, making 17 in total. These initially consist of the prime areas of learning. Within these initial areas, children can develop a secure foundation.

The skills included in the Prime Areas are Personal, Social and Emotional Development, Communication and Language and Physical Development. By focussing on these first, children can secure the skills needed to progress within their development.

Children will then move on to more refined topics in the Specific Areas of Learning. These include Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Design.

Each of the EYFS Seven Areas of Learning and Development, and the areas within each one are:

Early years practitioners will plan activities to cover these seven Areas of Learning. Throughout the day or session, children will have the opportunity to complete activities that cover many, if not all, of EYFS Seven the Areas of Learning and Development.